Vulnerability

“It is better to fail in originality than to succeed in imitation.” -Herman Melville

This quote exudes truth. While the majority of society goes about life trying to mimic the best and the brightest, the prettiest and the most talented, I strive to find the person I am–and that girl is far from normal. Over the years, I’ve struggled accepting the fact that I will never ‘fit in.’ After so long fighting to become like everyone else, trying to avoid the pain of rejection, I began to realize that it would be so much easier to simply be myself rather than trying to conform. I call this concept vulnerability.

I’m sure I’m not the only one who has been ‘fake’ in an effort to be safe from the rejection I would receive if I were to reveal my true personality. But the truth is that what makes us vulnerable makes us beautiful. This is so because it is showing that we have the courage to be real in a plastic world, to be willing to get hurt. If we never show who we really are, how will we make a difference? Since when has ‘fitting in’ done anything for the benefit of mankind? In order to truly live in creativity, to rock the world with our uniqueness, it is crucial that we be real. Real and vulnerable and courageous.

2 thoughts on “Vulnerability

Leave a Reply

