Writing is like running

Writing is like running. I bet some of you are probably laughing right now! Don’t worry, if I were to tell me this statement without an explanation, I’d probably be laughing too. Just let me elaborate on this point here…perhaps you’ll see what I mean.

I’ve just recently finished a decent short story that consumed my life for the past week or so. Yesterday I wanted to begin a new short story, but stumbled across a severe case of writer’s block. No ideas lit the fire. I tried to just write through the block, but it was excruciating and I could not continue. Then this simile dawned upon me.

Imagine you’ve just finished a long race (not me, because I can’t run well to save my life, or anything to do with sports for that matter). The first thing you’re going to do is slow down, take a drink, and rest. Right? Or are you going to go run another race immediately?

Of course, writing is both exhausting and energizing for me, if that makes any sense. However, I’ve found that a few days to brainstorm and observe the world around me is beneficial to finding a new idea that lights the fire.

One thought on “Writing is like running

Leave a Reply

