Childhood

Remember childhood? Waking up at eight-thirty, watching Caillou (my favorite children’s show) for a while, then riding in the backseat of the car on the way to preschool, where you’d eat Gogurt tubes and play house in the plastic kitchen.

Well, that was my early childhood, at least. I long for those days. When I call up these blissful memories, I feel a sort of sentimental ache for the youthful ignorance I once had. Yes, ignorance. Typically the word is not viewed in a positive light, however, it is in this case. Perhaps a better word would be not-knowingness. Okay, okay, it’s not a word. I am well aware of this, but doesn’t it describe childhood so well? We weren’t aware of all the sickening crimes and horrible tragedies. We didn’t worry about what we would wear, how we looked, or the crippling stress of having so little time. Innocence was our constant companion. A sense of wonder surrounded us.

You’re probably chuckling at me right now. Oh sure, Abigail, how can you speak about childhood when you’re a child yourself? Perhaps I am still a child, but one that has at least a vague understanding of how life works and how innocence and wonder can be lost so easily.

Part of me is still five (and I believe everyone has this part of them) the other part is an eighth grader, and the last part of me grew up too quickly. I’ve held fast to my ever-growing sense of wonder, but some shards of innocence have gotten away from me. Now that I’ve gotten my life realigned a bit through some changes, I’m determined to get back all I can of what I lost.

I’m not encouraging ignorance at all. The time of not-knowingness has passed; we must be informed of the current happenings in order to make a difference. But in matters concerning wonder and innocence, perhaps children have it right.

Today, I’m challenging all of you to see the world through the rose-colored glasses of a young babe. Laugh at bad jokes, notice that funny-looking tree, and whip out some crayons and construction paper–you might be surprised what you can discover about yourself!

 

3 thoughts on “Childhood

  1. Challenge accepted. 🙂 I challenge you to, too. 😉

    And I understand this post completely. As I am but a child too.

    (P.S. You remind me of me, except better.)

Leave a Reply

