Cardboard Adults

One of my worst fears is becoming one of those boring adults–you know, the ones who just sit around in the office all day and do nothing but check emails and complain about life and go meetings, etc. etc. etc.  I hope that when I’m grown, I’ll still have my sense of wonder and joyous heart.

Have you become a cardboard adult? That’s what I call it–someone who seems to live a boring, monotonous life, never stopping to breathe the fresh air or feel the soft grass beneath their toes. Cardboard adults often complain about not having enough time to do anything but work, but the truth is that one can make time for small pleasures anytime. Driving to the office, notice the clouds–fluffy dollops of ice cream against a candy blue sky. Don’t just drink your coffee–smell it! Imagine where those coffee beans originated and try to feel the sensation of traveling a long journey to be put in a hot beverage. (Of course, always keep an eye on the road. Thankfully I’ve got some time to get my imagination under control before I’m allowed to get my permit.)

Now that I’ve given you some ideas to find joy, I don’t want to hear any excuses. There are always stray minutes waiting to be daydreamed in. Nobody is working 24/7. How about those few minutes as you’re drifting off to sleep? Like  I said, you can’t say you don’t have enough time. Everything is bursting with opportunity for imaginative thinking.

And if you don’t naturally think imaginatively,  just try to notice things. For instance, note the patterns on a rose petal. Pay attention to the texture of the sidewalk. Whatever you do, don’t just pass life by!

By the way, thank you for all the encouraging comments on my posts! It does mean a lot to me, and although I don’t usually reply to comments, they are always noted!

 

One thought on “Cardboard Adults

Leave a Reply

