More than a Feeling

Should I start singing the song? You know, the one by Boston! (How could anyone NOT love that song?!)

However, this isn’t about music. This is about basing life off feelings of a moment. Recently I had a conversation with a friend about this. The person strongly believes in feelings as truth. I understand that emotions are very important, but one cannot base life off of them. Just imagine believing everything you feel as infallible truth. It doesn’t sound too pleasant, does it? The raging whirlpool of human emotions is quite fickle, ever-shifting and as wild as the sea. One week may feel like a lovely dream, but another will be fits of anger and sadness. Sure, you could extend that week to a month or so, but it doesn’t change my point. When it comes to reliability, I’ll take a large, steady cruise ship over a little yacht.

Of course, I’m not saying to ignore everything you feel and become a zombie. That’s not what I’m saying at all! I’m all for emotion (see my post ‘Numbness or Passion’) but you can’t let that rule your life. Begin building your life on truth, and it will surely stand solid in the midst of a hurricane.

Leave a Reply

