Get an imaginary boyfriend!

My dating experience is very limited due to my very young age (a few days from being fourteen), but I do have a few words of wisdom for anyone who wishes to listen.

My simple dating advice to anyone my age or younger? Don’t do it! I don’t care how perfect you say the other person is; I don’t care how good of friends you are; I don’t care if you’re a hopeless romantic like me who wants a knight in shining armor to carry you away to the Land of Blissful Love. Spare yourself the heartbreak and I can assure you that you will thank me later. Please don’t make excuses or exceptions and note your age. You are young. There isn’t even a reason to date somebody. Oh, you really like him? Hm…well in that case…nope, still not making an exception! Go home and write long ballads about the two of you and never show them to anybody and daydream. Anything but actually dating the person. It will most likely ruin whatever friendship you have, and at least one of you will end up in pieces.

However, I have nothing against book boyfriends. You know, dating a book or movie character in your mind. Or, if you’re anything like me, make up an imaginary boyfriend. It sounds a little lame, but it’s really not. Here’s why…

  1. Imaginary boyfriends will never hurt you or let you down.
  2. Imaginary boyfriends will not argue with you.
  3. Imaginary boyfriends can look however you want them to.
  4. You can bring your imaginary boyfriend anywhere.
  5. You can have an imaginary boyfriend at any age.

So, what do you say? Start dreaming!

One thought on “Get an imaginary boyfriend!

  1. Last week I was subbing in a 7th grade math class. My group of cute boys suddenly started making farting noises. You know the kind when you use your arm? It was as cute and silly as can be but I’m grown. Those boys, as cute as they are, are certainly not date-able. Good true life advice.

Leave a Reply

