Love came down and rescued me

Love came down and rescued me

There was a time in my life when I was angry and cynical all the time, releasing my judgment on anything that seemed stupid or unreasonable to me. Sometimes this wrath was unleashed on the silliest topics, like what brand of sock was most common. I listened to angry music, watched angry comedy, read angry books, and essentially indulged in hatred. If fury was a fast-food restaurant, I ate there every day and gorged myself on a McHatred combo with a side of apathy and an extra-large depression soda.

I can talk on and on about how love came down and rescued me, how it snatched me from the raging rivers of deep lies, sadness, and anger. Do I ever talk about how hate came down and rescued me? No, because it didn’t. It was love–God’s unfailing love–that saved me from the path I was turning onto. Love gave me the sense of belonging I thirsted for, not hatred.

When I finally let go of trivial anger, I found myself not only accepting people more easily, but having compassion on them and their own trials. My ability to give and receive love expanded, and I began seeking out the brokenhearted.

I’m not saying anger is bad. Feelings are never bad–they’re feelings. My point is that some things are simply not worth getting angry over, and if we find out why we’re angry about those things and let God’s great love fill in our hungry gaps, we can enrich and benefit our own lives and the lives of others.

When I thought I’d never get better, love came down and rescued me from my hurt, my anger, and my shame. Have hope in love, and have hope in God. After all…

“Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.” 1 Corinthians 13:7

Leave a Reply

