I’m going to teach a boulder how to swim.

I sometimes feel like I’m in the middle of a vast ocean with a rock tied to my neck. I’m not talking about one of those little stones lonely kids decorate for pets (hint: I was one of those kids). I’m talking about a massive, NFL-sized boulder. Because it’s far too cliche to say “I refuse to sink,” I’m going to go with my own alternative.

I’m going to teach a boulder how to swim.

I don’t expect this boulder to just go away. It’ll take Jesus to do that–and I’m ready for whenever that healing comes, I guess. In the meantime, however, I’m going to give this rock a pair of swim-sleeves. (What do you call those inflatable arm things children wear?) I’m going to swim through this ocean, not sink in it. My pain will not cause me to drown. I will pull it all behind me until I’m set free.

Not only will I, in Dory’s words, “just keep swimming,” but I’m going to blast this boulder with the truth. You know, like a little truth water pistol! Like this:

Boulder, you are wrong. You know why you’re wrong? I am worthy of love and acceptance. I am not shameful, inadequate, or worthless. I am precious, loved, and fully justified through Jesus Christ. Now swim, I say, swim! One of us is going to have to sink eventually, and it’s not going to be me! Take some of that truth water! I hope you like the flavor, because you’re going to be tasting it a whole lot. I won’t believe a single word you say. You know why? Because you’re just a big rock of lies! I’m unwanted? Psh, that’s not even close to the truth. Didn’t they teach you that in boulder school? No? Well, get ready to be educated, you chunk of hardened magma.

Oh, my gosh. That was so much fun. Doesn’t the truth feel great?!

 

 

One thought on “I’m going to teach a boulder how to swim.

Leave a Reply

