Word vomit

Well, if you’ve read my previous post, you’d know that I sort of had a moment in the middle of writing it. This is a follow-up to that. You know, details and such that I may have missed in my little moment.

There’s a difference between dealing with pain and sitting in spaghetti sauce (see my previous post)–a very important difference, at that. For instance, it really helps for me to talk through how I’m feeling. I’ll go on and on about what’s bothering me until I feel that I’ve released it all. It’s like word vomit. I feel sick and full of things I need to spill out and discuss, then I throw them up in the presence of a listening ear and feel a little better. This is healthy. I strongly suggest this act of verbally throwing up. It becomes unhealthy when one returns to the emotional vomit like a dog.

Gross, right?! Unfortunately, this is what people, myself included, often do. (Metaphorically, not literally.) We release all our feelings, but we continue to sit in them. The point I’m trying to make is that it’s totally okay to feel sad, angry, hurt, or whatever, and it’s totally okay to talk about those feelings. It becomes unhealthy when we choose to cling to those feelings and not let them go, when we become attached and addicted to our own pain.

My next post will talk about why I think pain can be addicting. But, for now, I’m tired. Abigail needs her beauty rest.

Happy vomiting!

Leave a Reply

