The Ages

My short-term memory is okay, I guess–but my long-term memory is impeccable. Sometimes I have to cover up how good my memory is in order to not sound freakish or stalker-like. For instance, I remember someone’s first and last name after not seeing them for seven years and not being particularly close to them to begin with. Sometimes I remember the exact dates I have conversations with people. I can use this to my advantage. It can be really convenient, but it’s also a really terrible curse. 

With this freak memory, I attach time-frames on my life almost obsessively. I categorize, often using exact dates. Usually I only do this with the more recent past–say, the past two years. These are some of the categories. Exact dates mean something really important happened that day that I can probably clearly remember. 
The Age of Naivety: September 2011 to December 22nd, 2011
The Hellish Age: December 22nd, 2011 to February 28th, 2012
The Blissful Age: February 28th, 2012 to March 29th, 2012
The Age of Bitter Tears: March 29th, 2012 to June 2012
The Lonely Age: July 2012 to December 5th, 2012
The Second Hellish Age: December 5th, 2012 to March 21st, 2013
The Age of Rejuvenation: March 21st, 2013 to July 2013
The Age of Discovery: July 2013 to October 29th, 2013

That brings us to the current age. I’m probably going to reference these ages in future posts, so it might be good to know them. Just like The Infamous James. You need to read that post, because I’m going to keep making references to it. That post is key. 

My favorite ages were The Age of Rejuvenation and The Age of Discovery. What wonderful times. As I reflect back on this year, I want to say it’s been an awful year–but there were seven months of awesomeness. It depends on if the good times outweigh the bad. I’m not sure yet. I tend not to think in terms of calendar years, but in terms of school years. For instance, eighth grade was awful. So was seventh. Fifth and sixth were pretty bad, too. Fourth was just eh. Come to think of it, I really haven’t had a good school year since third grade! All my good times seem to get crammed into the summer. That’s just the way it works. 

My least favorite months are January and February. They are awful. I detest them. I loathe them. March is terrible, too–depending on how warm it is. The warmer, the better. The sunnier, the better. April and May are wonderful. The summer is wonderful (and I’m including September in that, too). It’s a bit hot, but I love the sun. October is pretty, but I’m usually starting to have life problems by then. November and December as well. I’m telling you, this is a recurring theme in my life. Over and over again. Always the damn wintertime that gets me down. Wait it out until spring. That’s what I gotta tell myself every day. Spring will be amazing. 

Oh, and Merry Christmas. 

 

Leave a Reply

