Taking Control

It’s been a long time since I’ve felt in control of my life. I’ve been overwhelmed with the circumstantial, and then with my emotions. I’ve been in the backseat letting everything and anything else run my life. You see, I’ve never really been the assertive type. I don’t speak up or take charge often. I’m usually comfortable not being the leader. But this is my own life, and it’s time to conquer it again.

I can’t change that I was bullied. I can’t change the fact that I have depression. I can’t control my emotions. But I can control my attitude, even if it’s difficult. I’m sensitive and empathetic–that’s something I don’t want to change–but I don’t have to be as fragile as a leaf, either. I don’t need constant validation. This is the time to take back my own life, because it’s mine.

And you know what I have to say to anything in my way?
Move the hell out. 

Leave a Reply

