MBTI fans! (talking about myself again)

So I’ve become a little bit of an MBTI fan. Okay, maybe a little more than just a bit. Pair this with the love of talking about myself, and you get a constant stream of self-awareness personality stuff. Sometimes I sense people start getting annoyed because of how much I love talking about myself. It’s not in a selfish sense–it’s just so fascinating that the self can hold so much complexity. So, I will provide an in-depth explanation of myself here. If you get bored reading about other people, I’d suggest leaving. Right now. 

Contrary to what some people at school may think, I am an extravert. I thought I was an introvert for quite a while, but I have concluded that shyness was really the cause of that. (For those of you who don’t know, shyness has nothing to do with introversion. Introversion is gaining more energy from being alone; extraversion is gaining more energy from being around others.) So being around others was draining for me not because I was introverted, but because I spent so much time and energy focusing on my every move. Anyways, I feel gloomy after an entire day of not socializing. The reason some people at school may mistake me for an introvert is because I don’t go up and start a conversation every time I see them. 

Why not? you ask. If you’re energized by social interaction, why don’t you initiate conversation with these people? Well, you see, there’s also moderation to this–I’d feel annoyed after spending two full days with people I’m not extremely familiar with. Also, I have an Intuition preference as opposed to Sensing. Intuitive types are abstract rather than concrete, living more in the world of “what-if” rather than what is. They’re less interested in details than they are with the big picture. Extraverted intuition (Ne) is defined as “noticing hidden meanings and interpreting them, often entertaining a wealth of possible interpretations from just one idea or interpreting what someone’s behavior really means.” For ENFP and ENTP types, Ne is the dominant function. Often, Ne-dominant individuals need to take time alone to process everything they’re taking in. While they’re energized by external stimuli, they need to separate themselves from it to deal with this information, using either their Fi (introverted feeling) or Ti (introverted thinking). By the way, the lead function for introverts will obviously be an “i” function and the auxiliary will always be the opposite. 

Because I’m an ENFP, I use Fi to make decisions, as opposed to Ti. “[Introverted feeling] is a function that deals with the person’s own individual feelings and beliefs. Unlike Extraverted Feeling (Fe), which responds to the environment and others’ emotions, Fi deals with morals and what the person truly believes.” As most of you know, I’m extremely introspective. Rarely will you hear me say that I don’t know what I’m feeling. And anyone who knows even the slightest bit about me will know for sure that I’m driven more by my emotions than I am by objective measures and facts. 

Overall, the ENFP function order is Ne-Fi. But for those of you who are still confused, I’ll try to explain a little more. I’ve already covered the E, N, and F aspects of my personality, but you may not understand the P yet. P (Perceiving) types are more open-ended and flexible than J (Judging) types. And I don’t mean accepting of other people–J types have nothing to do with judgmental people, and they can be wonderfully tolerant–I’m talking more about lifestyle and scheduling. The P dislikes routine and tedious tasks. They’re comfortable improvising, and they’re more of procrastinators than Judgers are. They don’t like making decisions, and they don’t have the need for closure that J types do. 

Now I’m going to go into specifics of the ENFP type (sorry for those of you who are bored). ENFPs are known as the inspirers. They have a plethora of ideas, and they love sharing them with others. In general, they’re very quirky, and unlike their ENFJ cousins, they tend to display their weirdness for all to see instead of keeping it more under wraps. They’re spontaneous, dreamy, and bursting with ideas and conversation like bubbling fountains. And, at least from my experience, ENFPs can often appear as other types. When I’m taking in new information and feeling thoughtful, I’m mistaken for an INFP. Sometimes I can be quite ESFP-like, especially around my best buddies. (If you don’t know, ESFPs are stereotypically the loud, outgoing party animals of MBTI). I can be very ENTP around those whom I’ve formed a firm judgement against (though it usually takes a lot for me to form such a judgement, unless you make a comment incredibly out of line with my morals). 

I hate conflict. Unlike the ENTP, I wouldn’t go out of my way to debate just for the fun of it. I’m usually too concerned with getting my feelings hurt, or hurting the feelings of the person I’m debating. It takes a lot for me to be able to sever ties with someone I care about. When I’m angry at my loved ones, I become either very haughty and snappy, or I retreat into a steaming vat of self-hatred. Usually, it passes very quickly, and I end up feeling like an asshole either way. After severing ties with someone, I don’t give the silent treatment. In fact, I am still quite capable of holding a conversation, but I refrain from revealing personal details or talking about my life–which is rare for me, because I’m usually fairly open about myself, even with those I’m not extremely familiar with. I become controlled and private, though polite, and I’m likely to be open to intellectual sparring (thus my slight ENTP-ness), though usually not for the sake of elevating my own knowledge, but to feel accomplished after winning the debate. 

I’m usually the first to try a new thing, even if it’s stupid. Around my friends, I can be loud, assertive, and very focused on the present moment (I’m sometimes thought of as an ESFP). 

Anyways, that’s about it for my super long MBTI thing. I’d be happy to discuss any other types to the best of my knowledge. Sorry if I’ve gotten any of this wrong; all of this has been acquired in my spare time and through the Internet. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

