Poetry and Prose

I surprise everyone when I tell them I prefer writing prose over poetry. Typically, poetry is considered, well, more poetic. It’s prettier, preferred, much more romanticized. It’s not that I can’t write good poetry, it’s just that I feel a little more constrained while doing so. Yes, I know, it contradicts what most feel about writing. But even my fellow writing friends tell me I was born for prose. Things just seem to flow out of me better, you know? My favorite writing style is diary-like confessional prose with a dash of profanity for added honesty. 

Leave a Reply

