Trust Me

Every fifth period, about twenty-five algebra students deposit their phones in hanging storage pockets at the front of the classroom. Despite being instructed to, I am not one of them.

Yes, I understand the meaning of this rule. The teacher doesn’t want us using our phones during class. So I make it a point not to; I silence it and keep it in my pocket or my backpack. It is during this class that I make the most effort to avoid my phone at all costs. Why? Because it’s obviously important to this teacher, and I want to honor that. But I want to be trusted. Putting my phone in a hanging rack of plastic pouches makes me feel like a child who’s immediately assumed to do the wrong thing. I want to prove that I can make the right choices and show integrity on my own.

Trust me.

Leave a Reply

