Here To Stay

A poem (originally untitled) written on December 16th, 2013 by a clinically depressed fourteen-year-old trying to convince herself to keep breathing.
She has kept breathing. She is two years older, recovered, and wondrously in love with life.

I taste the grass beneath the dew
the pictures that the morning drew
with paints of clear and shimmering hue
I taste the grass beneath the dew

I know the rain, I eat the fog
I fight to rule my murky bog
but wind can chill and mud can clog
I know the rain, I eat the fog

I try to grip a wet, smooth wall
yet struggle shocks and screams appall
The climb is higher than I recall
I try to grip a wet, smooth wall

Fall consoling, jump so sweet
shaking shoulders, naked feet
Daily all these thoughts I meet
Fall consoling, jump so sweet

But I promise you, I’m here to stay
I’ll fight to swallow every day
Weep I might and break I may
but I promise you, I’m here to stay

I promise you, I’m here to stay.

2 thoughts on “Here To Stay

Leave a Reply

