Social Jet Lag

I am a high school student. I set my alarm for 7 in the morning, snooze it for half an hour, and get to school around 8. I’m sometimes at school for more hours than I’ve slept. Unluckily for me, I’m also a marked night owl. The morning-to-evening world I live in has always posed a problem for me, and it probably will for the rest of my life.

Night owls struggle with social jet lag–the misalignment of our natural bodily clocks with the 9-to-5 culture we live in. At least for me, if I want to get an adequate amount of sleep, I have to cut myself off when I’m in the middle of my productive hours. It doesn’t seem to work anyway. Mornings are drudgery no matter how early I go to bed. I have trouble explaining myself to teachers. I can’t walk in late and start discussing the genetic and biological differences between night owls, middle-roaders, and early birds.

I hope I’m self-employed or something when I’m on my own, that’s all I can say.

Leave a Reply

