God Is Watching

I have never felt entirely comfortable with the notion of God constantly watching me. When I’m in the shower or the bathroom, I want privacy. When I’m sleeping, I don’t want to be stared at. Because I am deeply unsettled by ceaseless observation, I’ve had some doubts about getting close to God. He’s already close enough, isn’t he?

Yes and no. God has promised that he will never leave or forsake us (Deut. 31:8). He won’t throw us into the wilds to fend for ourselves, nor will he abandon us in our time of need. However, I don’t believe God is watching us all the time–not if we don’t want him to. Because God loves us, he respects us. There is no love without respect. If we don’t want God to be looking at us, he won’t try to sneak glances. He knows when we want privacy. So, no. God isn’t necessarily watching us all the time; at least, he isn’t if we’re looking at the word in a purely literal sense.

God is watching in that he is aware of where we are and what we’re doing. He does not watch me in the shower, but he knows I am taking one. He does not see, but he does understand. If I were to fall and crack my head open on the faucet, he wouldn’t be blind to the situation. God does not peer over my shoulder and stare at my computer screen, but he knows that I’m writing on my blog. He is there when I call. He is there if I want him to turn around and see. God has not left me, but he has left me be. God is not always watching me, but he always aware of me.

You do not have to sacrifice your privacy to have a close relationship with the Lord.

 

 

Leave a Reply

