Believe In Me

I’ve wanted to be a lot of things in my sixteen (and a half) years of life – an author, a teacher, a research psychologist, and a bartender, just to name a few. As I’m quickly approaching college, I’ve been investigating more jobs I might want to have. I’d love to share those dreams with the world, but something stops me every time. Something keeps me quiet.

It’s the fear of not being believed in. If I reveal what I want to be, I’m afraid I’ll be bombarded by doubters and skeptics. I don’t have the skills. I don’t have the personality. The confidence. The traits. The background. The practice. The motivation. It would be about everything I don’t have. With a barrage of negativity coming my way, I could possibly start to feel negatively myself. If nobody believes I have what it takes, I might doubt my own confidence. Maybe that’s still a flaw I have – the need for validation.

Really, it depends on who’s saying it. If a stranger tells me I can’t be who I want to be, I’ll just laugh at them. I know myself better than they do. But if someone I know well tells me that I’m not right for the job, or if they don’t show any enthusiasm for me, I can’t help but feel dejected.

But I’m highly aware of my own skills and abilities. I wouldn’t consider a job in the military or police force, because I know I would do very poorly there. If I didn’t believe I could do it, and if I hadn’t researched it, I wouldn’t bring it up in the first place. When I bring up my career dreams, I’m being serious. I’ve already brainstormed, researched, and thought it out on my own.

And to all my doubters – how could you expect someone who’s sixteen to have all the skills they need for their future job right now? This is why people grow up and go to school. Of course I wouldn’t have what it takes at this moment, but maybe with more growth, I’d be able to do it.

I believe in myself. Could you believe in me, too?

3 thoughts on “Believe In Me

  1. I’m a freshmen in college right now and I can sincerely say I believe in you. When you get to college you will see that nobody really knows what they want to do or who they really are yet. And those who seem to have it all figured out will probably change their minds later. Stay true to yourself and believe in yourself and you will get wherever you want to go.

Leave a Reply

