With My Heart

I have been writing a lot about God recently. He has really been helping me through tough things. When I’m sad, or I can’t fall asleep, I think about the lyrics in worship songs. Every night, I read my Bible and a devotional. I continually tell Him that I trust what He wants for my life, because I can’t do it alone.

It still feels a bit distant, though – perhaps even impersonal. I’m going through the motions, putting the effort into our relationship, but the deep feelings are not there. Now, I know that feelings should not dictate a relationship. That would be silly. However, it can’t be denied that people connect with God in different ways. For some, a connection with God means figuring out some Biblical questions and finding wonderful spiritual enlightenment. They connect with their minds. I’m not that way. For me, as a deeply feeling person, I connect to God with my emotions. I need to feel His presence. I want to feeling Him close to me. He made me sensitive for a reason. It’s to connect.

So, it’s hard for me to upkeep a relationship when there are no feelings involved. I’m trying to ignite that passion. I know it will spark soon; I can feel it. There I go again- feel it. I want God to touch my feelings. For me, the best gift I can give is my emotion. I honor God with my heart, and I feel closest to Him when He honors me with His.

Leave a Reply

