His Desires

Usually I publish a blog post every day, but you might have noticed that I skipped a few days. Well, I was sick. Cold and fever. I wasn’t bummed about feeling horrible so much as I was with not being able to do the things I wanted to do. I missed some plans to go out to my favorite restaurant and I wasn’t able to go for a run, which, due to weather reasons, hadn’t been possible before. It was frustrating, and I won’t pretend I didn’t cry a little bit.

Friday evening, during my devotional, I came across Psalm 37:4 –  Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. It came to me then that my life would be somewhere away in the middle of the ocean without God. I felt a glowing sense of appreciation for him, and I decided to align myself with what he wanted. If I did that, if I trusted in the God of the universe, everything would work out. After all, I told him, he’d been doing this for four billion years. How long had I been wandering about the world? Sixteen (and a half!). I told him that I wanted what he wanted, even if it meant I were sick for another week.

The next day, my fever went away, and my cold symptoms rapidly diminished. God gave me what I’d wanted, and all I did was give myself up to him.

I don’t expect to get everything I want, but I can’t help but feel grateful to my Lord for this one time. Everything worked out. Besides, how could I have enjoyed any of my previous plans with a fever?

God knows what he’s doing. Remember – he’s been running the world for four billion years. You’ve been running your own life for less than a hundred. With that knowledge, I think it’s safe to trust him above all.

Leave a Reply

