Starting to Run – Again

For the first time in over a month, I went for a run. Well, technically a walk-run. It’s embarrassing that I’m starting my training plan all over again, but the upside is that I know I’m capable of doing it. When I started the journey of running back in November 2014, I could barely make it one lap around the track. In just three months or so, I was running for forty minutes straight. There’s no doubt in my mind that I can do it over again. Besides, I haven’t regressed entirely. And if I have, at least my mind is telling me otherwise. I’ve got this.

The program is fourteen weeks long. Back in November 2014, I started a nine week 5K program. This time I’m trying to be a little more ambitious. The first nine weeks are the same, but after that, it’s unknown territory to me. Supposedly I’ll be able to run a 10K by the end of it. It sounds like a lot, but I’m a true believer. If a couch-adoring bookworm like me could be transformed into a running enthusiast, anything’s possible.

Hopefully, signing up for a race will motivate me to train. Just thinking of it now – gearing up for a morning race, having a number pinned on me, seeing my hard work come to fruition – is motivating me. After running a race, I’ll be a living, breathing, Real Runner. Nobody will be able to stop me.

I’ve always heard that it’s best to take things one step at a time, but that advice only holds me back in this case. Thinking about lacing up for my next run and walking doesn’t get me pumped. What does the trick for me is imagining, leaping into the future, foreseeing myself as a marathon participant, and chasing that dream like it’s a powdered sugar doughnut hanging from the heavens.

And no matter how much or how little of a Real Runner I am, you can bet that I won’t give up powdered sugar doughnuts for the world.

2 thoughts on “Starting to Run – Again

Leave a Reply

